At the end, only 43 residents were living in the retirement home, and when they finally left at the end of September 2010, the remaining 28 employees lost their jobs.
Since then, the retirement home stands abandoned, snug between a residentuial area, a small forest and a picturesque paddock.
The history of the institution is quickly recounted.
It had been built in 1957 and was expanded in 1962.
In 2010, it was decided that the advancing architectural and technical requirements for a retirement home could not be met anymore without a significant financial investment. An invenstment that
the owner couldn't afford; so new homes were found for the residents and the home was closed in 2010.
The building is now (2015) being used by the local police for training purposes; cardboard characters and paint munition can be found.